I created a person!

In two and a half months, WST will be 3 years old. I have found myself in wonder repeatedly lately – “Who is this person in my house and when did I invite them here?”

The answer, of course, is that I invited her here without knowing anything, really, about her.  So now I have a permanent house guest (resident really) whose personality is something of a continual surprise.

She is opinionated, difficult, demanding, and unreasonable. She is also articulate (most of the time), thoughtful, creative, and insightful.  Also funny, loving, charming, and kind. 

She is a whole person, with a solid personality all her own.

She is over 3 feet tall (and over 30 lbs, ooof), prefers shirts and pants/shorts, but takes spells of wanting to be in a dress. She loves shoes, and has a penchant for deliberately mis-matching her socks.  Also “green is her favorite.” She likes princesses and fairies on her panties, glittery things, and, when it is not cold, being naked.

She is attached to no one ‘thing’ or comfort object, but rotates ‘favorites’ regularly.  She likes books, dinosaurs, Pooh characters, and investigating things.  She hates sleep in the evening and wakefulness in the morning. She generally likes water play and baths, unless it is not her idea. She likes to yell, sing, hum, and dance and often makes up her own songs/tunes. She likes to run, jump, climb, play  on playround equipment without fear, and has learned to ride a tricycle. She likes puzzles and art and helping to cook (or clean – but on HER schedule).

She is an active, interactive, go-get it personality (when she is not being a floppy slug-like being in front of the TV on your lap). She has been called down for being bossy at school and at home. She has “best friends” and is well-liked by many at school/daycare (teachers and students).

Wow.  Less than 3 years ago, it seemed like it took FOREVER for her to learn to reach up and grasp a rattle – to become someone you could interact and play with.  Now I have a whole person who argues with me over English grammar, methods for imbibing liquids, and whether or not imaginary friends have appropriate transportation.

Now if you blink, you missed something.  Maybe even something major.

Anthony Hopkins delivered a line in Meet Joe Black, “Sixty years. Don’t they go by in a blink.”

Yeah.  Wow.  And I waited to have her until I was 41.  In only 17 years more, I’ll be 64 – and she’ll be 20.

17 years – won’t they go by in a blink. (Except, of course, for the portions/phases that will take eons to end.)

2 Responses to “I created a person!”

  1. adnohr Says:

    Wow, I just landed hear from martinimade and I feel like I am reading my own story! My just turned 2 yr old daughter sounds just like yours, and I had her at 40. I’m going to subscribe and see what’s in store for me, you’re a year ahead so I’ll have plenty of warning!

  2. oneluckymommy Says:

    Thanks for your comment – I love to chat with older moms who have just had their first child! I’m trying to get better at posting regularly, but work, child and health seem to interfere regularly!


Leave a Reply

