E-mail Spam turns out GREAT!

Like me, you probably get a LOT of e-mail spam.  Like me, you probably have spam filters that catch much of it, but some still gets through – banks, sex, “enhancement,” and, lately, “buy our baby stuff.”  Like me you probably spend a lot of time deleting spam.

So today, I got this spam e-mail, [picture supressed] “You are invited to participate in…”  Oh, man, I say, more spam. but then I read on, “…Just one more Book!! a free online audio program (podcast) that promotes and celebrates literacy and great children’s books — without advertising or sponsorship of any kind.”  Yeah, right, I’ll just hit dele…

Wait.  I LOVE children’s books.  WCB gets 6-8 stories before bed every night.  And random stories throughout the day.  If these guys are for real, I might really be missing a good thing.  I waffled.  Then I clicked the link.  I was cynical.  I cruised the web page.  I read the About page.  I listened to a 5 min podcast on “I’m not cute.”  Ok, I said – these folks look legit. And WAY COOL.

I spent 30 mins out of my day checking out children’s books online – some off of their web site, some jumping off from other sites, some – just because they are my favorites.  So – some spam is GOOD.

I’ve linked to them over on the right, and I’ve subscribed to their rss feed.  I may not listen to everything, but I want a regular reminder to take a moment and frolic in the world of children’s literature.

(OK – more moments than I already have – every day.  perhaps what I want is to frolic in the world of children’s literature I haven’t read 30 times already.)

Leave a Reply

