Bad Day, need pats…

cafemochavaliumlatteCrummy day at work. Three folks laid off, one a close co-worker.  This economy sucks. I want to go home and stuff my head under a pillow and cry. Or at least eat a ton of ice cream and read myself into oblivion.

Instead, after work, I need to meet with a plumber, sign for my new gutters, and be a moderately happy cheery mom to my happy cheery child.  

I know I’ve been stressed and grumpy and sleep-deprived for months now, but this it the first time it’s really going to be hard to “be the right mom.”  She won’t understand why mommy is crying/bent. She’ll just want a mommy to laugh and play with her after work as she always does.  Even tired mommy always cuddles and smiles at her….

I know, I know – I need to take care of myself in order to take care of her.  So she’ll likely get a weeping, cuddly, smiling mommy.  And I’ll eat ice cream while she plays with her toys. And ask Daddy-O for hugs.

One Response to “Bad Day, need pats…”

  1. Lamont Cranston Says:

    Stick her in her bouncy chair. The smiles, giggling, and thumpy noises will make YOU feel better.

    Baby-therapy.

    Lamont


Leave a Reply

